Project Zero

Our first project was painting my old room which is going to be Ariel’s new room.  Technically, I guess this wasn’t a “remodel” project so I will call it Project Zero.

Here’s the story: Ariel is graciously relinquishing her old room (really my original room… confused yet?) so that it can become Mom’s crafting extravaganza headquarters.  When I was about 13 or 14, Mom and Dad let me paint the room in question (the one Ariel is moving into) and let’s just say that my decorating tastes today are vastly improved from my early teenage years.  Ariel picked out this great purple color for most of the walls and then a lighter purple/pink for as an accent color for part of one wall.

We made our preliminary trip to Home Depot on Saturday, picked up samples of the paint colors and started prep work that afternoon.  After the AIDS Walk on Sunday, we picked up the actual paint to get started and between Ariel, Jessica and myself, we had a good first coat done by Sunday evening.  Monday, Ariel and I did the second coats on the light wall and all the darker trimmings.  Tuesday, I finished up the second coat for the darker colors.  Today, we took off the tape and I think it turned out pretty great!

Since this was more of a whim project than a planned one, I don’t have good before and after photos (or maybe I just didn’t want to further document what my prior paint job looked like).  Also, I don’t have a good measure of how close to our budget we were since I didn’t actually do the homework on this one.  I will tell you that we probably spent more than if I had made a budget.  Thus, I promise to post an estimate & budget for every project from here on out!  I also underestimated the amount of paint we needed.  Thankfully, I have a fabulous husband who made a few extra trips to Home Depot for me.

Also, has anyone ever used one of those paint sprayer things?  I thought that this project was going to be fairly easy (it’s a relatively small room), but it seemed like it took longer than I thought it would.  Although, that’s usually the case when I get silly ideas.  I’m just thinking when the whole remodel is done and we want to paint in the garage/loft, it might be worth considering using a sprayer thing.  Maybe.  Another tip I’d like to remember for next time will be using wider painter’s tape, just to be on the safe side.  And spending more time on wall prep.  I thought between Dad and I we caught all the little pin holes and such but as we painted, I found quite a few that we missed.  Nothing really noticeable, just annoying. Please, remind me to re-read this when I’m ready to paint again

The darker purple color looks great with her freshly painted white furniture.

Here’s the stats for Project Zero:

Trips to Home Depot: 4 (two of which were just David.  Bonus points towards his Husband of the Year award!)
Total Cost: $82.27
Hours:  I’m going to guess 10ish

Leave a Reply

